Reginette bolognese

I was shopping in Aldi the other day, when I came across pasta that I hadn’t seen before (and I did a massive piece of coursework on pasta for my food technology GCSE a few years ago) It was called Reginette. It looks really pretty; like wavy edged tagliatelle. And tagliatelle is my favourite pasta. So obv, I was going to like it 🙂

Here it is in all its glory:

I just had to use some asap. So what to make? I’ve been having a lot of creamy and rich sauces later, so to balance it out a little, I decided to make a tomato based sauce. Bolognese it was.

Serves 2-4 (I made it for 2 plus saved some for the next day to have with baked potato)

Ingredients:

1 large white onion

3 mixed peppers

Garlic (as much as you like, I use loads!)

6 tomatoes

Oil

Salt & pepper

Basil

Tomato puree

Large glass of red wine

Box/jar of passata

500g lean minced beef

Balsamic glaze

Sweet chilli sauce

Worcester sauce

Pasta

1. Chop the onion and peppers. Fry in a pan with a little oil until soft. Slice and chop the tomatoes, chop the garlic and add to the pan. Cook for a few minutes

2. Stir in some tomato puree, salt & pepper and basil. Cook for a few more minutes

3. Pour in the wine and the passata and stir

4. Turn the hob onto simmer

5. In another pan, pour a little oil and add in some chopped garlic. Add in the mince and some balsamic galze, sweet chilli sauce and Worcester sauce. Cook on medium until brown

6. Add the mince into the sauce and continue to simmer on low for about an hour or until the sauce has reduced and is thick and rich

7. Cook the pasta in a pan full of water with salt and a little oil to stop the pasta from sticking.

8. When the pasta is cooked and drained, serve it with the bolognese spooned on top. I love to add some grated parmesan too.

I know it’s a rubbish photo (which ones of mine aren’t ha!) But I hope this kind of shows how rich the sauce is 🙂

Bellissimo!!

Leave a Reply

